Steel Glove: The Collection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Yet another in a string of late-career retrospectives, Steel Glove focuses on the early period of Accept's development into the second-greatest German metal band of all time. Tracks from each of the group's first four records are combined in this anthology covering the years of 1979-1993, in which Accept developed from amateurishly goofy hard rockers to Teutonic metal pioneers. The problem with Steel Glove is a track list that is weighted so heavily toward the group's earliest, less-defined work. The inclusion of a couple songs from the eponymous debut might be nice to lend the set some historical perspective, but four songs from the clunker is way too many. And with the entire I'm a Rebel song list included on Steel Glove, the group's sophomore effort is over-represented. Breaker is appropriately recognized with six tracks included, but why on earth are only two songs from the masterpiece Restless and Wild present? Perhaps there were legal or personal issues involved, but with so much throwaway material, this highlights package practically defines the term "non-essential."

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:56
2 3:44
3 4:20
4 3:03
5 4:12
6 3:53
7 3:56
8 4:34
9 3:45
10 4:32
11 4:03
12 3:02
13 4:10
14 5:22
15 3:38
16 3:44
17 2:42
18 5:05
19 4:01
blue highlight denotes track pick