Various Artists

Sounds of the Eighties: 1987

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

In addition to Rolling Stone-affiliated volumes and assorted condensed variations on the same theme, Time Life's Sounds of the Eighties series also spawned year-specific discs, each of which takes a fairly broad swipe at mainstream hits with little concern for stylistic cohesion. The 1987 installment features Debbie Gibson's "Shake Your Love," Fleetwood Mac's "Little Lies," Belinda Carlisle's "Heaven Is a Place on Earth," Starship's "Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now," Lou Gramm's "Midnight Blue," Jody Watley's "Looking for a New Love," and Poison's "Talk Dirty to Me." If the Now series had existed in 1987, the odds are good that the volume covering this year would look very similar.

blue highlight denotes track pick