Al Cohn

Son of Drum Suite

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The sequel to The Drum Suite, Son of Drum Suite is a six-movement piece composed and arranged by Al Cohn. Although Mel Lewis, Don Lamond, Jimmy Cobb, Charlie Persip, and Louis Hayes (who is replaced by Gus Johnson on half of the suite) are all on drums, no drum solos are longer than eight bars, and they serve as interludes and logical parts of the suite. Among the other soloists along the way are fl├╝gelhornist Clark Terry, altoist Gene Quill, valve trombonist Bob Brookmeyer, and Zoot Sims on tenor. The music on this LP (long overdue to be reissued on CD) holds one's interest throughout, with Al Cohn's writing being particularly inventive.

blue highlight denotes track pick