Various Artists

Rock On: 1976

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Each volume of Excelsior's Rock On series provides an extremely arbitrary snapshot of the year that's being covered. Only 12 songs are on each disc, meaning that a good amount of space goes to waste, and there's little in the way of stylistic focus. Needless to say, these hastily patched-together budget-line discs shouldn't be considered suitable documentation for the years they are covering. Rock On: 1976 includes Vicki Sue Robinson's "Turn the Beat Around," Hall & Oates' "Sara Smile," the Starland Vocal Band's "Afternoon Delight," Jefferson Starship's "With You Love," Orleans' "Still the One," and Elvin Bishop's "Fooled Around and Fell in Love."

blue highlight denotes track pick