Mark O'Connor


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Retrospective contains 18 of Mark O'Connor's progressive and traditional bluegrass tunes from his first six albums on Rounder. O'Connor is one of the finest fiddle players of his era, and this collection contains the absolute best of his output during that period. The track selection features equal parts traditional material, "Dusty Miller," "Dreamer's Waltz," and "Wild Fiddler's Rag" mixed with O'Connor originals, "Floating Bridge of Dreams," "Pickin' in the Wind" and (the longest piece on the disc at six-and-a-half minutes) "Beserkeley."

blue highlight denotes track pick