• AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Reflections is the debut EP by the hotly tipped New York indie pop band MisterWives. Formed in 2012 by singer/songwriter Mandy Lee along with bassist William Hehir and drummer Etienne Bowler, MisterWives started to garner attention by posting tracks on their SoundCloud page, with their cover of Drake's "Hold on, We're Going Home" eventually going viral in late 2013. With their appealing blend of dance, synth pop, and folk, MisterWives were quickly signed by Island subsidiary Photo Finish Records and they set to work on their six-song EP. Veteran engineer Neal Avron was brought in to remix three of the band's previously issued songs ("Coffins," "Kings and Queens," and "Vagabond"), while producer Frequency was brought in to record the title track and two other new songs. The result is a shimmering blend of mostly upbeat pop that recalls the quirky dance-pop of No Doubt mixed with the pastoral, folky melodies of the Lumineers. Soaring through the stylistic changes is Lee's strong voice.

blue highlight denotes track pick