Random White Dude Be Everywhere

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Named after a comment posted on his YouTube channel, Random White Dude Be Everywhere compiles a recent batch of Diplo tracks, solo ones fans might have missed between all the white dude's Major Lazer work and production for the likes of Britney Spears, Justin Bieber, Riff Raff, Iggy Azalea, and so on. Maybe it's all for name recognition as the man was about to disappear behind Lazer's conceptual party presentation and the total eclipse that is Riff Raff, but whatever the reason, it's a good enough excuse to rescue these bangers from EPs, 12"s, and other hard-to-sort whatnot, as long as the listener doesn't mind a bumpy album ride with some redundant remixes plus Diplo's total embrace of the electro trap sound. New number "Techno" with Waka Flocka Flame Harlem shakes and stutters with that lurching trap beat, while "Freak" does the same only bigger, employing a hook that is somewhere between a fire alarm and a chainsaw. Latino rhythms spice up "Boy Oh Boy" and the Travis Porter-led booty number "Biggie Bounce," while "Revolution" is the reason the Britneys and the Biebers call upon the man, as it sounds Katy Perry big but with a much sharper edge. The remixes are all wonderful, and come off as the first half on a Molly-fueled spin cycle with cogs, sprockets, lasers, and bass drops shooting out, but so much dazzling junk jewelry and exciting monkey business is numbing in one go. Random White Dude Be Everywhere is a worthy round-up time capsule that works best when consumed in two EP-sized bites or parted out for mixtapes.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 4:23
feat: Alvaro / Álvaro
3 3:27
feat: Steve Aoki / Deorro
feat: GTA
6 3:44
7 4:37
8 3:12
feat: GTA
feat: Steve Aoki / Deorro
11 4:29
12 3:15
blue highlight denotes track pick