Gary McFarland

Point of Departure

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This Impulse LP (not yet reissued on CD) was one of vibraphonist Gary McFarland's best recordings. McFarland contributed six of the seven selections (all but the "Love Theme from David and Lisa") and utilizes an all-star sextet filled with colorful soloists: trombonist Willie Dennis, Richie Kamuca on tenor and oboe, guitarist Jimmy Raney, bassist Steve Swallow and drummer Mel Lewis. The music is bop-oriented, but also open to occasional innovations taken from the avant-garde. None of the songs caught on as standards, but they tend to stay in one's mind after finishing the album.