David Liebman


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Recorded at the Village Vanguard in the spring of 1978, this album is an obscure classic of hard-hitting, post-bop New York jazz. It consists of only three tunes, played by a tremendous lineup -- Liebman on tenor and soprano saxes (he'd soon switch to soprano exclusively, then back again around 1996), Randy Brecker on trumpet, Richard Beirach on piano, Frank Tusa on bass, and Al Foster on drums. The quintet begins with Beirach's modal milestone "Pendulum" and hammers away at it for over 18 minutes. Liebman's mid-tempo, boppish "Piccadilly Lilly" is next, followed by a 17-minute romp on Wayne Shorter's "Footprints." The original LP includes photos of the band, in garish '70s garb, kicking back with Max Gordon, the late owner of the Vanguard. There's also a booklet with Liebman's shop-talking liner notes, an early Liebman discography, and lead sheets for "Piccadilly Lilly" and "Pendulum." A collector's item, and a terrific listen as well.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 18:18
2 7:27
3 17:14
blue highlight denotes track pick