Eddie Cochran


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

While not being as complete package-wise as the Legendary Masters series on United Artists, this 20-track Eddie Cochran retrospective delivers the goods on the A-side singles from 1958-1963 (the posthumous release Rock 'n' Roll Blues). The sound quality, while not completely digitally remastered, features more-than-acceptable analog, and everything a casual fan of the period would want is here, including "Summertime Blues," "C'mon Everybody," "Twenty Flight Rock," "Skinny Jim," "Three Steps to Heaven," "Sittin' in the Balcony," "Cut Across Shorty," "Nervous Breakdown," and "Hallelujah, I Love Her So," plus ten more, including a few surprises, such as "Sweetie Pie" and "Completely Sweet." There is very little to write about Cochran that hasn't been written by many more qualified to do so than I. I do know one thing, however: these songs are as enduring as the day they were released, and Cochran's reputation as a guitarist, singer, and arranger of his own material is more than warranted. His grasp on the music of his era was total. Collectors who are looking for oddities need not even glance at this compilation since everything is available from the United Artists disc or Bear Family's offerings, but for those looking for an inexpensive introduction to Cochran, this would be a well-advised choice both for its material and price.

blue highlight denotes track pick