Various Artists

ONXRT: Live from the Archives, Vol. 16

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

WXRT-FM is well known as one of Chicago's best commercial radio outlets, playing an eclectic variety of pop and rock that covers both the mainstream and alternative spectrums. WXRT also regularly records Windy City performances by leading artists for later broadcast, and ONXRT: Live from the Archives, Vol. 16 is the 2014 installment in the station's long-running series of compilations drawn from its archive of live material. The collection features exclusive and previously unreleased performances from the Avett Brothers ("Another Is Waiting"), Alex Turner ("Reckless Serenade"), Blitzen Trapper ("Thirsty Man"), Los Lobos ("Mas y Mas"), the Walkmen ("Heaven"), Jake Bugg ("Lightning Bolt"), Suzanne Vega ("Tom's Diner"), Broken Bells ("Holding on for Life"), and many more. A portion of the proceeds from sale of ONXRT: Live from the Archives, Vol. 16 will be donated to two Chicago charities, Growing Home and the Chicago Women's Health Center.