Various Artists


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

With One, Shelflife Records paired with Blissen Press in 2001 to produce this unique project. The CD accompanies the children's book One by Jill Bliss. The music is certainly ideal for children, featuring 17 lively and fun-loving indie pop songs. The opening track, "Big Bright Shiny Yellow Sun" by the Fairwood Singers, features Allen Clapp on vocals in a radiant and sophisticated track. It's followed by "Disorderlies" by Brittle Stars, an organ-laced pop sound that has become the band's staple. Philadelphia's Snowfairies chime in on track four with the uplifting "My Dream House," while Tara Emelye Needham, formerly of Mad Planets, shines with the simple "Plastic Bouquet." The Poconos offer the instrumental "Honeydew," and Pololeo, featuring members of Akron's Churchbuilder, is featured with the synthesizer-laced "New Places." California's Majestic and Sweden's the Shermans both perform the closest thing to a title track with the spacy "One Soundtrack." The Parcels check in with their spirited "If I Ever Get the Chance Again," led by Melissa Wysocki's energetic vocals. The disc ends with the space pop of Mahogany on "Sophie Taueber-Arp." Shelflife Records released One in October 2001.