Various Artists

Nervous Hip Hop

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Far more than a detour into rap territory, Nervous Records alternates breakbeat workouts by its artists (the Wreck All Stars led by Kenny "Dope" Gonzalez, Franki Feliciano's Groove Asylum, and Live & Die Reck) with tracks by acknowledged rap titans like Smif-N-Wessun, Funkmaster Flex, and even dancehall's Mad Lion. Most tracks are successes, though many of the recruited house producers interpret hip-hop through the medium of more subtle, danceable fare.

blue highlight denotes track pick