Hank Crawford

Don't You Worry 'Bout a Thing

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Hank Crawford’s album Don’t You Worry ‘Bout a Thing was originally released in 1974 on Kudu Records, an offshoot of Creed Taylor’s CTI label. For his fourth Kudu release, Crawford provides three original compositions along with two Stevie Wonder tunes, "Don’t You Worry 'Bout a Thing" and “All in Love Is Fair.” The string arrangements of Bob James, who also plays electric keyboards on the date, provide a light touch of sophistication and blend well with Crawford’s R&B-steeped alto saxophone. An impressive assortment of soul-jazz and modern jazz musicians joined Crawford on this date, including Pepper Adams, Randy Brecker, Ron Carter, Idris Muhammad, Joe Farrell, Jon Faddis, Bernard Purdie, and Hugh McCracken. Reissued for the first time on CD in 2011, Don’t You Worry ‘Bout a Thing was remastered but unfortunately without bonus tracks.

blue highlight denotes track pick