Various Artists

Millennium Hip-Hop Party

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

One of Rhino's main gifts as a record label is that they know a good gimmick when they see it, and there's no better gimmick than the millennium. Hence, their series of Millennium Party albums. None of the Millennium discs demonstrate much imagination, but they do make a good argument that sometimes it's better to stick to the basics. For instance, Millennium Hip-Hop Party contains 18 tracks, most of them hits from the Bush era, but also a couple of earlier singles ("White Lines (Don't Don't Do It)," "Walk This Way," "Parents Just Don't Understand") and latter-day G-funk ("What's My Name," "Nuthin' But a 'G' Thang"). There are no surprises among these 18 songs, but when the core of the album features some of the best crossover rap ever made -- "Funky Cold Medina," "The Humpty Dance," "Bust a Move," "It Takes Two," "U Can't Touch This," "Around the Way Girl," "Set Adrift on Memory Bliss," "Tennessee," "Now That We Found Love," "Good Vibrations," "Baby Got Back," "Jump Around," "Hip Hop Hooray" -- there really aren't any complaints to be made. In fact, there are few collections that offer a better primer of big hip-hop hits than this, and it's not a bad addition to any rap collection.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 4:29
2 3:39
3 4:11
4 4:39
5 4:24
6 4:58
7 4:16
8 5:10
9 4:04
10 3:57
11 4:33
12 4:16
13 4:30
14 4:21
15 3:35
16 4:24
17 4:14
18 3:55
blue highlight denotes track pick