• AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

In the alternative metal field, there are plenty of bands that favor brute force for the sake of brute force. But other alternative metal bands don't live for bombast alone; they're more intricate than that, and they value melody as much as they value aggression. Lowjack is such a band. This self-titled EP by the Philadelphia foursome isn't exactly easy listening -- with direct or indirect influences that range from Sevendust to Nirvana, Lowjack doesn't hesitate to be forceful and aggressive. But while tunes like "Change," "Greasehorse," and "Token" get in your face, they're also quite melodic. Melody, in fact, is a big part of what Lowjack does -- obviously, these Philadelphians believe that volume isn't the only thing that matters. And if you forced Lowjack to unplug and record an acoustic project, chances are that the four songs on this enhanced CD (which contains a video section that is compatible with both Windows and Mac platforms) would hold up well. Yes, guitarist Jack Gillespie loves amplified aggression, but Lowjack's songs would still have a lot of meat on their bones if he had to play them on an acoustic guitar. A solid and enjoyable, if derivative, debut, Lowjack paints an attractive picture of the alterna-metal combo.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 4:35
2 4:11
3 4:00
4 4:01
blue highlight denotes track pick