David & Jonathan

Lovers of the World Unite: The Greatest Hits

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Considering they're a '60s British act that did actually have a couple of hits, David & Jonathan have seldom been anthologized. This collection of 20 1966-1968 tracks certainly does a good job if you can find it, though. It includes, of course, both of those big hits, "Michelle" and "Lovers of the World Unite"; a few songs from their only LP; and a bunch of non-LP A-sides and B-sides. Ultimately, though, there's little to get excited about, even for British Invasion fanatics. At times the vocals, songs (most of them originals), and arrangements bear passing resemblance to the Fortunes (for whom David & Jonathan, aka Roger Greenaway and Roger Cook, wrote some hits), Chad & Jeremy, Peter & Gordon, the Walker Brothers, the Four Seasons, and the Tokens. They're not as distinctive as any of those acts, though, and more oriented toward MOR pop than any of them as well. A couple of oddities might pique the curiosity of some avid historians, though. "Speak Her Name," a 1966 single, was written by Clint Ballard, composer of several excellent '60s hits like Betty Everett's "You're No Good" and Wayne Fontana & the Mindbenders' "Game of Love." Their cover of "She's Leaving Home" was perhaps the first cover of anything off the Beatles' Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band album, as it came out on 45 on June 2, 1967, the very day after Sgt. Pepper's was released. Not only that, it boasted an arrangement by Beatles producer George Martin (who also produced all but two of the tracks here), who was not able to arrange the Beatles' version of "She's Leaving Home" because he wasn't available when Paul McCartney wanted the song to be scored. The 1990 David & Jonathan CD collection Very Best Of, incidentally, has a track listing identical to the one on this See for Miles LP.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:48
2 3:09
3 2:38
4 2:56
5 2:10
6 2:24
7 2:31
8 2:54
9 2:09
10 2:46
11 2:34
12 2:16
13 3:02
14 3:17
15 2:29
16 2:10
17 2:08
18 2:31
19 2:41
20 3:12
blue highlight denotes track pick