The Temptations

Lost and Found: You've Got to Earn It (1962-1968)

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

As one of the entries in Motown's Lost and Found series, this is a 20-track major find of largely unreleased Temptations material. It all originates from the early golden period of the group's history, with Eddie Kendricks and David Ruffin finding their groove with each track, redefining soul history while searching for a hit. Several tunes would go through lyric and arrangement changes in Motown's rigid back-to-the-factory production methods, and some of the tunes aboard ("Last One Out Is Brokenhearted," "Camouflage," "Forever in My Heart," and "We'll Be Satisfied") are in their early incarnations. There are also alternate versions of the title track, "Ain't Too Proud to Beg," and a live performance at the Fox Theater of "My Girl," announced onstage as their newest single. Here's a treasure trove of rare Tempts tracks from the good old days; far from a pack of leftovers, in all honesty it doesn't get much better than this.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:55 Amazon
2 2:37 Amazon
3 2:50 Amazon
4 2:45 Amazon
5 3:03 Amazon
2:41 Amazon
7 2:42 Amazon
2:21 Amazon
9 2:18 Amazon
10 2:52 Amazon
11 2:20 Amazon
12 2:33 Amazon
13 3:33 Amazon
14 2:40 Amazon
15 3:47 Amazon
16 2:42 Amazon
17 2:30 Amazon
18 2:50 SpotifyAmazon
19 3:00 Amazon
20 3:00 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick