The Doors

Live in Detroit (Cobo Hall, 05/08/1970)

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

On May 8, 1970, Detroit's Cobo Hall was the setting for Live in Detroit, the first complete concert performance on the Doors' own Bright Midnight label. This is the Doors the way they deserve to be remembered -- tight and overtly bluesy. However, that oversimplification unfairly discounts the multiple sonic detours made along the way. Strange but true, this is the very first complete concert recording by the Doors to be offered for mass consumption -- allowing for some poetic justice. Live in Detroit is an initial step in removing the rumor and innuendo regarding Jim Morrison's loss of ability to perform on stage -- with the threat of an impending legal trial. No, this isn't the same trippy, hippy, psychedelic band that raised eyebrows by singing "higher" on The Ed Sullivan Show. Similarly, the world had grown in the intervening years. While this set is chocked full of early favorites such as "Break on Through," "Light My Fire," and the rarely documented "The End," the Doors' souls are full of the blues. Snippets of Curtis Mayfield's "People Get Ready" and Robert Johnson's "Crossroads" connect and propel the band into live musical experiments. They also certify the Doors' own blues, such as "Roadhouse Blues," "You Make Me Real," and "Been Down So Long." Taking cues from Morrison, the power trio of Manzarek, Krieger, and Densmore evolve the artistry of being able to network Morrison's impromptu poetic ramblings. Tucked in the dark recesses of the music is the omnipresence of a mindset larger than what was taking place on stage -- the muse is in the house. All in all, the results are wholly satisfying. In addition to the double-disc set, Live in Detroit includes an eight-panel foldout liner notes booklet, as well as a roughly ten-square-inch full-color poster.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 1:34
2 1:31 Amazon
3 1:15 Amazon
4 1:53 Amazon
5 4:45 Amazon
6 1:54 Amazon
7 2:23 Amazon
8 6:44 Amazon
9 6:43 Amazon
10 2:57 Amazon
11 7:23 Amazon
12 17:40 Amazon
13 0:36 Amazon
14 7:03 Amazon
15 2:07 Amazon
16 4:00 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick