Sean Dinsmore

Just a Kiss

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

An absolutely solid soundtrack album, Just a Kiss mixes high-powered, hip, contemporary acid jazz and electro beats with a marvelous down-tempo score to emerge as a cohesive smooth groove that proves just as pleasing to those fingering the set for musical content alone as for those who wish to bring a bit of the movie home with them. Compiled and masterminded by New York DJ/producer Sean Dinsmore, who also appears on the soundtrack with his own band, the Dum Dum Project, Just a Kiss bounds through bossa nova beats and Asian-influenced electro, rarely resting in one spot before leaping to another. Supplanting the original score is a handful of the genre's best, who weigh in with their own hits. The Supreme Beings of Leisure are included with their sultry and stunning "Never the Same," while Jocelyn Enriquez's sexy, sexy club hit "A Little Bit of Ecstasy" provides counter-balance. French electro jazzers les Nubians, perhaps best known for their cover of Sade's "Sweetest Tabu," contribute the sassy "Demain," while the Charlie Watts/Jim Keltner Project raise heartbeats with the heavy-hitting edge of "Max Roach." While Just a Kiss probably won't be universally appealing to the mainstream, there's a little something for everyone, even if it's just Genevieve Waite's closer "Love Is Coming Back." A marvelous and hefty slab of groove and vibe, this set proves that soundtracks don't have to utterly transcend the screen to stand alone; some are podium-worthy in their own right.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:49
2 3:29 Amazon
3 0:56 Amazon
4 4:09
5 0:51 Amazon
6 1:32 Amazon
7 4:00
8 2:28 Amazon
9 2:20 Amazon
feat: DJ Rodriguez
11 0:24 Amazon
12 0:33 Amazon
13 4:53
14 1:51 Amazon
feat: Adam Roth
3:06 Amazon
16 1:17 Amazon
feat: Tara MacLean
18 1:28 Amazon
feat: Les Nubians
20 1:01 Amazon
21 8:18 Amazon
22 4:05
23 2:28
blue highlight denotes track pick