Joyride: Remixes

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Mirah's music has always had an intriguing balance of ambition and intimacy, both of which come to the fore on Joyride, a double-disc collection of remixes and reinterpretations of songs from You Think It's Like This But It's Really Like This, Advisory Committee, and C'Mon Miracle. Her collaborators on the project include some of her closest friends and collaborators, such as Mt. Eerie (aka Phil Elverum, who worked on all three of those albums) and the Blow's Khaela Maricich, as well as artists like Anna Oxygen, Pash, and Guy Sigsworth; all of them bring different perspectives -- some more experimental, some more accessible -- to Mirah's winsome voice and lyrics. Several tracks here rival, or improve on, the album versions of these songs. You Think It's Like This But It's Really Like This' "La Familia" gets two of the best remixes, which are similarly low-key and bittersweet, taking their cues from the song's musings on friendship rather than its sunny, guitar-driven indie pop. It's not really surprising that Guy Sigsworth's take on the song is one of the best moments on Joyride, since its delicately skittering, minor-key electronics are very similar to the work he did with Imogen Heap as Frou Frou. Maricich's reinvention of "The Garden" is another standout; featuring her vocals layered over Mirah's, it's more like a duet than a conventional remix. Shawn Parke's versions of "Nobody Has to Stay" and "Mt. St. Helens," Lucky Dragons' subtle but effective revamp of "Pollen," and Emily Kingan's serene reworking of "Advisory Committee" are other highlights. While there are a few disappointments, such as Mt. Eerie's overly glitchy "Don't Die in Me" and a logy version of "Cold Cold Water," it's to be expected that the album's experimental nature makes some remixes less satisfying than others. Overall, though, Joyride is still a treat for Mirah fans.

blue highlight denotes track pick