Terry Day


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Terry Day may be a relatively minor figure of the London free improvisation scene, compared to John Stevens, Derek Bailey, or Evan Parker, but back in the '70s and '80s, he was one of its most entertaining and unpredictable musicians. Interruptions culls (mostly) solo recordings made between 1978 and 1981 for an album that never materialized. The CD contains 32 tracks, most under three minutes in duration. Sound quality varies from very good to poor, and the instrumentation is spread all across the board. Throughout the album, Day plays piano, saxophones, bamboo pipes, percussion, cello, mandolin, toys, and various other real and home-made instruments, in addition to singing; several of the track titles are self-explanatory in that respect. Peter Cusack and Davey Payne accompany him in the only three songs of the album: "Be a Good Boy," "It Ain't My Cup of Tea," and "Eaters." The second of those is as punk in attitude and content as it gets; you can easily imagine the Sex Pistols covering it, even though that never happened. On "Eaters," Day's semi-mocking vocals are strongly reminiscent of Daevid Allen in his New York years. Some of these pieces consist of brutal free solos ("Piano 1," "Soprano 1 & 2") and day-to-day duos ("One and Two Cellos," "Alto & Cello"), while a few others feature extensive multi-tracking to achieve a more composed -- yet just as wacky -- result, including the intriguing "Theme" series. Seventy-eight minutes of this aural treatment is a little overwhelming and irritating, but there is so little solo Day around that it would have been a shame to cut down the album to a more palatable one-hour duration. Terry Day never was your average free improviser, as his work with the People Band and Alterations can testify, and Interruptions lives up to the man's persona. It is cluttery like a mad multi-instrumentalist's basement.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:11
2 1:58
3 0:59
4 1:06
5 2:57
6 2:09
7 1:20
8 0:39
9 3:08
10 1:43
11 1:58
12 0:39
13 2:05
14 2:46
15 3:51
16 0:38
17 6:17
18 0:21
19 3:32
20 3:37
21 3:14
22 1:52
23 1:40
24 2:30
25 5:18
26 2:53
27 3:34
28 2:01
29 1:27
30 2:17
31 3:56
32 2:42
blue highlight denotes track pick