Various Artists

Instant Party Disc: Regular Strength

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The idea behind Rhino's Instant Party Disc series is that any compilation bearing the label Instant Party Disc is guaranteed to turn the lamest gathering into a rip-roaring bash. Which is why there's nothing but party favorites here, regardless of style, genre or decade -- "Celebration," "We Are Family," "Tequila," "Rock This Town," "Mickey," "YMCA," "Another One Bites the Dust," "Addicted to Love," "The Heart of Rock & Roll," "Whip It," "Love Shack," "That's the Way (I Like It)," "You Dropped a Bomb on Me" and "Hot Hot Hot," along with the other four tracks on this compilation, being the kind of songs that transcend all space and time. And generations, come to think of it. All kidding aside, Instant Party Disc: Regular Strength is a good choice for anyone who wants a solid record filled with the songs the radio has never stopped playing -- the only fault with the compilation is that it's entirely too predictable, but in this case, that may actually be a plus, since it won't fail to meet the expectations of anyone who needs the perfect party pick-me-up.

blue highlight denotes track pick