Dave Young

Inner Urge

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Following his attractive series of duets with a host of pianist over three CDs, bassist Dave Young omits piano altogether on this delightful release. Accompanied by guitarist Reg Schwager and drummer Michael Lambert, Young covers a mix of post bop, swing, bossa nova and his own melodic orginals. His ballads "Our Waltz" and "Psalm for E. M." are worthy of further exploration by other musicians as well, while the leader's bowing skills are featured on his upbeat original "Sir William," which also contains Schwager's best solo of the set. Vibraphonist Gary Burton sits in on the powerful title track, a low-key but vigorous take of "It Don't Mean a Thing," and Cedar Walton's always inspiring "Bolivia."

blue highlight denotes track pick