The Gap Band


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Gap Band installment in the budget-line Icon series updates 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection, a disc released in 2000. There are a few differences between the compilations. Icon doesn’t include “Humpin’” or “Season’s No Reason to Change”; instead, there’s “I’m Ready (If You’re Ready),” “Jam the Motha’ (Munchkin People),” and “Open Up Your Mind (Wide).” As expected, Icon includes the big hits: “Burn Rubber (Why You Wanna Hurt Me),” “Yearning for Your Love,” “Early in the Morning,” “Steppin’ (Out),” and “Outstanding,” all of which peaked in the Top Ten of the R&B chart. Unfortunately, the superior 12” mixes tend to be snubbed in favor of album versions and single edits.

blue highlight denotes track pick