Donna Summer

I Feel Love: The Collection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Released a few months after she was posthumously inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, I Feel Love: The Collection is a fine if imperfect introduction to Donna Summer. It smartly includes the original version of "I Feel Love," as well as Patrick Cowley's towering 16-minute remix, and there are other essentials, including "Love to Love You Baby," "Bad Girls," "Hot Stuff," and "She Works Hard for the Money." The absence of several other career highlights -- such as "Try Me, I Know We Can Make It," "Spring Affair," "State of Independence," and "Dinner with Gershwin" -- is problematic, but this set scores points for its second disc, a showcase for her incredible side-length pieces.

blue highlight denotes track pick