James Moody

Hi-Fi Party

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

For a period in the mid-'50s, tenor saxophonist James Moody (who doubled on alto) was able to keep together a swinging septet that played bop in a fairly accessible way. On this CD reissue of two 1955 sessions, Moody and his group (which includes the fine trumpeter Dave Burns, trombonist William Shepherd, baritone Pee Wee Moore, pianist Jimmy Boyd, bassist John Lathan, and drummer Clarence Johnson) perform swinging versions of fairly obscure originals including the lengthy "Jammin' With James" (which has a long tradeoff between Moody and Burns), Benny Golson's "Big Ben," and "There Will Never Be Another You." The highpoint is Eddie Jefferson's one appearance, singing his alternate lyrics to Charlie Parker's famous solo on "Lady Be Good" which he renamed "Disappointed."

blue highlight denotes track pick