Various Artists

Heidelberger Jazz Tage '73 Live

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This compilation recorded during the 1973 Heidelberg Jazz Festival is a wide-ranging sampler with individual selections by six different groups. Fusion guitarist Volker Kriegel's group Spectrum offers his brisk, somewhat funky "Lastic People." Pianist Fritz Pauer (one of Art Farmer's favorite accompanists) leads a trio with bassist Jimmy Woode and drummer Erich Bachtr├Ągl through Woode's intense "Don't Move." Brilliant guitarist Attila Zoller's "Boara Sbar" starts subtly but abruptly switches into a brash fusion setting. Guitarist Toto Blanke's meandering "Spider," featuring Association P.C. with guest Jeremy Steig on flute, has the feeling of free improvisation. Tenor saxophonist Bobby Jones, part of the group Summit, composed the unpredictable hard bop number "Don't Stop Now," which also has some fine playing by trumpeter Dusko Goykovich and pianist Horace Parlan. To complete the album, traditional jazz veteran Turk Murphy's spirited rendition of "Dr. Jazz" ends this unusual anthology on a bright note.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 6:35
2 9:31
3 5:45
4 10:32
6 3:27
blue highlight denotes track pick