Various Artists

Hardcore Til I Die, Vol. 3

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Remixed by two of the scene's most prominent and influential DJs, Re Con and Squad E, Hardcore Til I Die, Vol. 3 is the 2010 installment of the hugely successful series which compiles the year's biggest and best hard house, happy hardcore, and anthemic trance floor fillers. Featuring breakneck speed versions of Top Ten singles from Yolanda Be Cool & DCUP ("We No Speak Americano"), Edward Maya ("Stereo Love") and N-Dubz ( "We Dance On" ), and hi-NRG re-workings of huge European hits from Inna ("Amazing") and Dan Balan ("Chica Bomb"), it's the Twista label's most commercial and chart-friendly offering to date. However, the usual suspects still appear in force, including Darren Styles on the pounding rhythms of "Sound Without a Name," Ultrabeat on the melodic "Bring It Back," and Scooter on the frenetic techno of closing track, "Stuck on You." Elsewhere, there are high-pitched, synth-heavy covers of recent chart hits from Tinie Tempah ("Pass Out"), Owl City ("Fireflies"), and B.o.B ("Nothin' on You ), a revival of Technohead's stoner classic "I Want to Be a Hippy," and underground tunes from the likes of Dougal & Gammer, Riskee, and Darren Hotchkiss. Highlights include Daruso's '90s-influenced "Since You've Been Gone," Benny Benassi's all-star collaboration "Spaceship," and Armin Van Buuren's atmospheric piano-led "In and Out 0f Love." The frantic beats, sped-up vocals, and high-pitched synths of this three-CD, 62-track collection will remain as headache-inducing for anyone baffled by the success of the happy hardcore scene, but with its combination of chart hits, remixes, and club anthems, it could well be the seasoned raver's most essential album of the year.

blue highlight denotes track pick