Various Artists

Group Harmony & Jumps: The Legendary Dig Masters, Vol. 5

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The fifth volume in this series collects up some rarities from Johnny Otis' short lived West Coast imprints. Sporting 19 previously unissued tracks on a 26 track collection, the emphasis here is on quality rather than hit 'oldie' status. Highlights include the Phantoms' "Crazy Little Beat," Little Julian Herrera's "Lonely Lonely Nights," Sugar Pie and Pee Wee's "Don't Ever Leave Me," and the Videls' "Oh! Baby." Johnny Otis was incapable of producing a bad record, so even these outtakes have much value some 50 years later.

blue highlight denotes track pick