Musica Flexanima / Fabrizio Bigotti

Gregorio Allegri: Opere inedite dia manoscritti della Collectio Altæmps

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Miserere of Gregorio Allegri is his most celebrated work, though he was a rather accomplished composer of masses, motets, cantatas, and instrumental music, much of which was published in his lifetime, though some remains unpublished to this day. This 2014 Tactus release by Renaissance scholar Fabrizio Bigotti and his ensemble Musica Flexanima presents the eight-voice Missa, "In lectulo meo," sections from the Lamentationes Jeremiae prophetae, and several canzones for mixed instruments, all of which were drawn from manuscripts in the collection of the Palazzo Altemps for these world-premiere recordings. While Allegri lived in the early Baroque era, his writing often resembles the Renaissance style of Palestrina, so the choral selections reflect the pure, unornamented polyphony that was favored in the Sistine Chapel, where he sang and composed. Musica Flexanima's choral performances are all a cappella, and the singers deliver transparent textures with fluid lines, while the winds and strings in the canzones offer clean articulation and wonderfully evocative sonorities.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:36
2 4:47
3 2:48
4 3:59
5 3:16
Missa "In lectulo meo" 8 vv., on the motet by Pietro Bonomi
6 6:51
7 5:51
8 2:17
9 9:46
10 2:36
11 4:51
12 5:01
13 2:02
14 2:49
15 2:45
Lamentationes Jeremiae prophetae, 4 vv.
16 4:03
17 3:46
18 2:59
blue highlight denotes track pick