Gone: A Collection of EPs 2000-2007

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Gone: A Collection of EP's 2000-2007 compiles two tracks ("Finlandia," "Black Woods") from Mono's sold-out Hey You EP, "Yearning" from the sold-out Mono/Pelican split album, both songs ("Memorie dal Futuro," "Due Foglie, una Candela: Il Soffio del Vento") from the Memorie dal Futuro 10", "Since I've Been Waiting for You" from the Thankful compilation, and the entire The Phoenix Tree EP ("Gone," "Black Rain," "Rainbow," and "Little Boy [1945 -- Future]"). Needless to say, Mono fans will revel in this compilation, as it pairs much of the necessary Steve Albini recordings with the best rare early songs, which, while less symphonic, are still incredibly majestic dynamic exercises. As far as building minimalist clouds of sound into explosive, frenetic storms, there aren't many bands that can compete with Mono, and this comp acts as a solid introduction to the group's emotionally swelling sonic virtues. The songs are grouped chronologically, to capture the band's progression, but this also works well conceptually, creating an upward slope as the disc progresses and the band ventures deeper into orchestral territory (the last EP was recorded with a quartet) and culminates in a wash of guitar noise. This is Mono at their most cinematically lush, and there's absolutely no reason for a shoegazer or new classic music fan to skip out on a set of songs this gorgeous.

blue highlight denotes track pick