Backyard Babies

From Demos to Demons 1989-1992

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

By the time the Backyard Babies had an album debut with Diesel and Power, they had already had a few years under their belts as a young and defiantly glam-influenced band called Tyrant, which then mutated into an early version of the Backyard Babies before starting to really pick things up. This great trawl through the vaults -- two discs-worth covering recordings from 1989 to 1992 -- sums up that time for those interested, showing that the whole Scandinavian garage sound of the '90s hardly came out of nowhere. Liner notes, presumably by the indefatigable Dregen himself, though it's not really clear, reference everyone from the Ramones and the Stooges to the Cult and Faster Pussycat, and plenty of others in between; a collage of influences that would all obviously come to bear later on. The author is perfectly and thoroughly without airs when it comes to talking about everything (best bit, about "Bad Boys" Spinal Tap. For real?), and it's that easygoing attitude towards the band's past which makes From Demos to Demons such a treat: just take it as it comes rather than as any sort of serious statement and you won't be disappointed. Certainly hearing the high school wannabe Iron Maiden/Mötley Crüe era efforts like "Murder" and "Darkness" (the latter with vocals that are pure Raunchy Young Lepers in sheer ridiculousness) is pure hilarity in the light of history. Plenty of the song titles say it all: "Down Down Down," "Suffer Hard," "Warriors of Glory," "Party Pussy," "No More School," and "Something to Swallow." Two videos are included as bonuses on the first disc, while the packaging, with scads and scads of photos and memorabilia packaged in a box laid out like a studio master tape container, provides the icing on the cake. About the only thing missing would be a testimonial from Bill Gazarri, but that's what happens when you grow up in Nassjo Sweden and can't get to the Sunset Strip.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 4:10
2 2:28
3 1:40
4 2:53
5 3:15
6 3:01
7 2:09
8 2:25
9 4:25
10 0:57
11 3:32
12 3:40
13 3:17
14 4:30
15 4:19
16 7:28
17 12:08
blue highlight denotes track pick