Various Artists


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Freq_Out (pronounced "freak out") is a sound installation conceived and curated by Carl Michael von Hausswolff for the "d!sturbances" event presented in Copenhagen, June 2003. He recruited 13 sound artists and attributed to each of them a portion of the audio frequency range. Using only this frequency range, each artist had to create a piece exploring sound spatialization. The album presents 12 pieces by the artists (Petteri Nisunen and Tommi Grönlund worked together, everyone else is represented solo), plus a bonus track titled "Collective" arranged by B.J. Nilsen (aka Hazard), from the individual contributions. The 12 tracks that make Freq_Out are presented in a continuous segue, starting from the highest frequencies and moving down to the lowest. But it is not as smooth a ride as one would think. Approaches vary deeply, from drones of overlapping sine waves (Nisunen and Grönlund, Mike Harding) to arcane constructions of sound and silence (Brandon LaBelle, J.G. Thirlwell). The latter form makes a more rewarding listen, especially LaBelle's piece, full of surprises and intriguing stereo movement. Of course, the installation must have been much more striking when presented in a large room than coming out of your stereo speakers. That's where Nilsen's "arrangement" comes into play. His playful construction gives an idea of how the pieces must have interacted in the performance space. Participants also include Jacob Kirkegaard, Franz Pommasl, Hans Sydow, and The Sons of God's Kent Tankred, among others.

blue highlight denotes track pick