Frank Sinatra

Everything Happens to Me

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This is one of the most interesting and successful Frank Sinatra collections out there. Everything Happens to Me avoids the obvious hits and collects a number of the finest ballads and torch songs that Sinatra cut while at Reprise Records during the '60s, '70s, and early '80s. It's a regal collection that concentrates on the darker side of Sinatra's art. Instead of celebrating a cross section of the Voice's career the way that so many compilations do, the album sounds like an elegy and has a strange cohesiveness considering that it's drawn up from material that stretches over a 20-year period. Sinatra had recorded the title track numerous times throughout his career, but the previously unreleased version included here (complete with new lyrics) is his darkest and most battle-scarred interpretation. Even considering its lighter moments ("The Second Time Around" and the lyrically downbeat but wondrously swinging "Summer Wind"), this is a stark collection that almost plays like an original concept album about confronting disappointment, loneliness, and ultimately, mortality. That's a lot to ask casual fans to embrace, but Everything Happens to Me ends up giving listeners who only know of the swinging Rat Packer more than a glimpse of the complexity and depth behind Frank Sinatra's art.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 5:50
2 4:11
3 3:29
4 2:55
5 2:37
6 4:05
7 4:02
8 3:01
9 3:44
10 4:06
11 3:24
12 3:33
13 3:56
14 3:12
15 2:52
16 3:16
17 2:56
18 4:39
19 3:13
blue highlight denotes track pick