Groop Dogdrill

Every Six Seconds

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

For its cheerfully smutty second album, Groop Dogdrill chose a title based on the amount of time males supposedly think about sex. Clearly, this British trio has been single-handedly holding up the average for everyone else. For just under 45 minutes, Every Six Seconds examines sex in seemingly every possible permutation, mostly on the seedy side, unless one's idea of a tender love song is the Fall-like hectoring of "Clown Smash Everything" or the sado-masochistic explorations of "Bob 'n' Laura." Most of the songs are glossy but sharp-edged pieces of post-grunge pop along the lines of the thrashing "Angel Wings," but singer/songwriter Pete Spiby also tackles songs like the sloppy, Faces-like bash "On Me Not in Me" (one of the few groupie songs in which the rocker seems like the exploited one, and the one featuring the album's most memorable chorus) and Zappa-esque fragmentary freak-outs like "Mummy's Little Soldier." The resulting album might make more timid souls feel like they need a shower after, but it's an entertaining stroll through the back streets.

blue highlight denotes track pick