Various Artists

Essential R&B 2012

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Essential R&B 2012 is a two-disc compilation from Sony U.K. released in November 2011, so it collects many of that year's crossover R&B singles, including Chris Brown's "She Ain't You," Estelle's "Break My Heart," Marsha Ambrosius' "Hope She Cheats on You," and Miguel's "Sure Thing." The set doesn't stick to R&B, as it contains a number of tracks that are club-oriented and/or pop with zero-to-some touches of R&B. The likes of Ke$ha, Gym Class Heroes, and Jason Derulo really have no business on an R&B compilation, but those looking for an R&B-leaning compilation of 2011 hits should be left satisfied.

blue highlight denotes track pick