• AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

From Bergin, Norway, a dark college town near the Arctic Circle, Torbjorn Brundtland and Svein Berge composed and constructed this electronic musical mosaic in the influence of classical composer Erik Satie and French soft-porn composer Francis Lai. The two came together first as Aedena Cycle, who recorded an LP called Traveler's Dreams on the Apollo label after Bruntland's notable stint with house act Those Norwegians. Royksopp makes soundtrack-like music that brings to mind a romantic, winding car-chase scene with a flowing-haired beauty riding shotgun. The car never crashes and the guy always scores, though sometimes a little melancholic introspection is inevitable. With songs from the upcoming Wall of Sound LP Melody A.M., "Eple" begins with a playful and upbeat vamping flow of organ loop, infectious bass, and rocking drums. Its simplicity is successfully enhanced by creative editing, bright production, and well-thought-out vision. The second song on side A is a remix of "Eple" by Bjorn Torske, who molds the track in a different, though slightly less-productive, direction. The 12" EP concludes with "Royksopp's Night Out," a dramatic and dark symphonic accomplishment built with strings and an urgent beat that weaves and sulks -- showing the duo's ability to create dire tension while still maintaining an adoring mood. Overall, Eple is a strong effort worthy of attention, and an exciting prelude to the full-length.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
6:52 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick