Jade Warrior

Elements: The Island Anthology

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This two-CD set contains all of Jade Warrior's four albums recorded for Island Records in the 1970s. By this time the group was a duo of multi-instrumentalists Tony Duhig and Jon Field. Outside of a small hardcore fan base, listeners didn't know what to make of Jade Warrior. Was the group art rock or eccentric jazz or MOR flute fluff? Perhaps they were a little bit of each, but not enough to carve a niche of their own. From a perspective of 25 years, Field and Duhig deserved better. The band certainly influenced many successful acts. Jade Warrior was among the first and best to delve into what is now called new age music and they were one of the first Western bands to incorporate a world sound into their repertoire. The duo recorded two albums in the 1980s, but Duhig's death in 1990 left Field without a creative counterpoint. Despite recruiting new members, the group disbanded for good in the mid-'90s. Elements supplies evidence that Jade Warrior was among the most interesting groups of their day. The set includes a 16-page booklet with liner notes and full color re-creations of the four brilliantly rendered album covers.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:33 SpotifyAmazon
2 3:22 SpotifyAmazon
3 2:16 SpotifyAmazon
4 7:36 SpotifyAmazon
5 2:19 SpotifyAmazon
6 3:26 SpotifyAmazon
7 4:36 SpotifyAmazon
8 2:28 SpotifyAmazon
9 1:06 SpotifyAmazon
10 0:53 SpotifyAmazon
11 2:03 SpotifyAmazon
12 2:36 SpotifyAmazon
13 3:29 SpotifyAmazon
14 2:43 SpotifyAmazon
15 4:05 SpotifyAmazon
16 5:23 SpotifyAmazon
17 5:53 SpotifyAmazon
18 5:02 SpotifyAmazon
19 2:17 SpotifyAmazon
20 4:53 SpotifyAmazon
21 7:14 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick