Various Artists

Eccentric Soul: Capitol City Soul

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Eccentric Soul: The Capsoul Label was Numero's first full-length release, issued in 2004. A decade and 49 additional full-lengths (and scads of 7" singles) later, Numero returns to Columbus, Ohio to dredge up 20 additional recordings -- split roughly between released and previously unreleased -- from Bill Moss' Capsoul, its associated labels, and nearby brethren. This set isn't nearly as revelatory as the Capsoul comp, but it's not without a fair share of stand outs with instant allure to lovers of obscure late '60s and early '70s soul. It includes both sides of two sweet, group-harmony singles from the Chandlers, both sides of a funky single by prolific scene legend Dean Francis and his Soul Rockers, and Vondors' charmingly chipper "Look in the Mirror." Unearthed material comes from some of the names present on the Capsoul set, including Kool Blues and the Four Mints, as well as acts Love Maximum and Jupiter's Release. Two of the Four Mints songs were released by Numero in 2010 as a 7" single, yet one of the group's previously unreleased songs -- an elegant, perfectly arranged ballad, "Crystal Rivers" -- trumps everything else here and is as hot as anything on NUM001. The packaging here is typically generous with a thick booklet consisting of photos and detailed, labor-of-love liner notes.

blue highlight denotes track pick