Miles Davis


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This double album of leftover items not previously issued features Davis over a ten-year period. "Song of Our Country" is from the sessions that led to Sketches of Spain and there is a "new" version of "'Round Midnight" from 1961 along with "So Near, So Far" dating from 1963. Otherwise the remainder of this two-fer is from the transitional 1967-70 period when Davis was experimenting with combining jazz and rock. Some of the selections ramble on a bit too long but the music is mostly quite fascinating, featuring such players as Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Joe Zawinul, Chick Corea and John McLaughlin. It's most highly recommended to collectors with an open ear toward fusion.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 14:44 Amazon
2 11:00 Amazon
3 14:10 Amazon
4 10:21 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick