Various Artists

Destination Bomp

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Released to coincide with Bomp Records' 20th anniversary, Destination Bomp is a two-disc, 48 track aural manifesto from the Los Angeles label, that surveys two decades of underground releases. Music journalist Greg Shaw formed Bomp in 1974 as a platform for rock acts residing below the major label radar. The result was nothing short of a rallying cry from a thousand garages, bedrooms and basements; an euphoric burst of '50s rock, '60s psychedelia, '70s punk and (eventually) '80s college fare that Shaw branded "power-pop". Destination Bomp begins in 1974 with the label's premier release, the sublime pop breeze of the Flamin' Groovies "You Tore Me Down," proceeding on a tour of primal surf, decimated blues, gleeful pop and shimmying punk that concludes in 1992. That year the label released "She Made Me," the debut single from the Brian Jonestown Massacre. Capping off the set is its B-side, "Evergreen," a slice of shoe-gazing drift, sprinkled with psychedelic tape loops. Though they flirted with greater success in the early '80s with a pair of minor hits (Plimsouls' "A Million Miles Away" and Josie Cotton's "Johnny, Are You Queer?"), the bulk of the label's vast roster consisted of rock & roll footnotes. Even cult idols like Iggy Pop and Jonathan Richman didn't exactly chalk up large sales figures. Still, in a perfect world, you'd surely find songs like Nikki & The Corvettes' "Just What I Needed," Things' "Everytime" and Barracudas' "Surfers Are Back," gracing the Billboard charts. Destination Bomp is an excellent compilation for fans of Nuggets-style garage anthems.

blue highlight denotes track pick