Definitely Maybe Singles Box Set

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Noel Gallagher wanted Oasis to be a definitive singles band, much like his idols the Jam and the Smiths, so he made sure that his band had worthwhile B-sides on each of its singles. That had an unexpected, and perhaps intentional, end result -- many of Oasis' very best songs were stranded on their singles instead of showcased on their albums. Once Oasis became superstars in the U.K., Creation packaged each of their singles from their two albums in two separate four-CD box sets that were shaped like a Benson & Hedges cigarette pack. (The extraordinary "Whatever," a non-LP homage to "All You Need Is Love," was left off the set.) Although the singles for Oasis' debut Definitely Maybe weren't as consistent as those for Morning Glory, there's still a remarkable number of highlights. Supersonic features "I Will Believe," a wonderful reinterpretation of the Stone Roses, as well as Noel's first solo acoustic ballad, "Take Me Away." Shakermaker features another fine solo number from Noel, the deceptively bouncy "D'Yer Wanna Be a Spaceman?," awhile Live Forever has an acoustic version of "Up in the Sky" again sung by Noel and spiked with slide guitars. But Cigarettes & Alcohol is the one perfect single on the collection, not only featuring their primal deconstruction of "I Am the Walrus," abut also another fine introspective number from Noel ("Listen Up") and the monumental "Fade Away," awhere the melody for Wham's "Freedom" is twisted into a storming lament for lost childhood dreams.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 4:37
2 3:32
3 5:21
4 5:10

Track Listing - Disc 4

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 4:49
2 8:15
3 6:39
4 4:13

Track Listing - Disc 5

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 4:46
2 4:34
3 3:46
4 5:24
blue highlight denotes track pick