Various Artists

C.P.E. Bach: The Collection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This 13-CD box set from Warner Classics is a broad survey of the music of Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach, who is regarded as the most original and innovative of the sons of Johann Sebastian Bach. CPE Bach's distinctively passionate and sensitive music embodies the empfindsamer Stil, which was developed in the transition between the Baroque and Classical periods and stood in contrast to the lighter Rococo style. These recordings, made between 1978 and 1992, offer a representative sampling of concertos, symphonies, sonatas, and choral music, performed by many of the leading figures in the field of historically informed practice. Among the artists are Gustav Leonhardt conducting the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, Ton Koopman leading the Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra, and Philippe Herreweghe directing the Choir of Collegium Vocale, Ghent. They are joined by many outstanding soloists, including cellist Anner Bylsma, flutist Konrad Hünteler, oboist Ku Ebbinge, harpsichordist Bob van Asperen, organist Herbert Tachezi, and fortepianist Alan Curtis, whose performances receive ample coverage on each disc. Because the recordings were made in a variety of venues over a long period of time, and are analog and digital, there's some unevenness in audio quality, though overall the sound is clear and quite enjoyable.

Track Listing - Disc 13

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Die Auferstehung und Himmelfahrt Jesu, W 240, H 777
1 1:22
2 2:54
3 1:44
4 4:11
5 2:04
6 1:31
7 4:06
8 2:15
9 6:06
10 1:51
11 4:45
12 1:59
13 0:58
14 7:04
15 6:47
16 2:04
17 2:21
18 4:24
19 2:03
20 2:07
21 3:49
22 9:10
blue highlight denotes track pick