Various Artists

Contents Under Pressure

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

From the hottest label in the world of underground rap comes a different kind of compilation. Instead of the beat-centric slant of previous releases like the Return of the DJ and Revenge of the B-Boy collections, Contents Under Pressure tilts the platters to the abstract side of hip-hop, along the lines of foreign DJs like Cam, Krush, and Vadim. None of these are participants though, since Bomb Hip-Hop usually focuses on filling its compilations with good talent and quality tracks, not necessarily recognizable names. There are a few well-known DJs here (notably T-Rock, Faust, and Grazzhoppa), but most of the best tracks come from newcomers like Wildstyle Bob Nimble ("80 Something Below"), Greedy Boy (the Jeru-driven "Scientifical Madness"), Pepe Deluxe ("D.O.A."), and the excellently blunted Hydroponic Sound System ("No Secret Something Spiritual"). The album's two highlights are both DJ T-Rock productions: "Abduction & Analysis" by T-Rock & DJ Faust, plus "Annihilator Robot" by the man himself.

blue highlight denotes track pick