Various Artists

Concert for Piano and Orchestra/Atlas Eclipticalis

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This has got to be one of the finest recordings of Cage's music ever. The careful consideration given to musical and sonic details by the Orchestra of the S.E.M. Ensemble with conductor Petr Kotik, and the wonderful performance of piano soloist Joseph Kubera finally makes understandable in sound Cage's philosophical and poetical insights. In the performance of "Atlas Eclipticalis," for example, we finally hear the ongoing universe of stars, planets, solar winds and asteroids (etc.) much as Cage may have imagined a performance of his work. These musicians play the music with respect, accuracy and a more than ordinary sense of what is beautiful.