Conan O'Brien

Conan O'Brien Can't Stop [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

After his departure from The Tonight Show, Conan O'Brien found himself not only as a host without a home, but a host who was contractually obligated not to move to a new home should he find one. Rather than spend his late-night exile sitting on his hands, O'Brien took his show on the road with "The Legally Prohibited from Being Funny on Television Tour," a cross-country expedition that was the subject of a 2011 documentary. Focusing on the musical aspects of the tour rather than the comedic sketches, the soundtrack Conan O'Brien Can't Stop features 12 tracks of bluesy rock & roll performed by O'Brien and the Legally Prohibited Band (who were formerly the "7" of the Max Weinberg 7). Including covers of "I Will Survive" and "Seven Nation Army," the album finds O'Brien in a jovial mood as he jokes with the audience with the same effortless, self-deprecating style that made him a late-night fixture for 17 years. Members of Team Coco will find a lot to enjoy here, and will definitely want to check out the liner notes, written by Conan himself, that run through his thoughts on each track.

blue highlight denotes track pick