The Ikettes

Can't Sit Down... 'Cos It Feels So Good: The Complete Modern Recordings

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Like Ike & Tina Turner, the Ikettes had a pretty confusing recording career, releasing numerous discs for several labels and enduring several lineup changes. They did, however, settle at Modern for a while in the mid-'60s, releasing six singles and one LP for the company. This 27-track compilation includes all of that material, as well as some solo recordings by Ikettes Venetta Fields and Flora Williams (aka Delores Johnson), adding quite a few outtakes and alternate takes not issued in the '60s. It's not, it should be a clarified, a greatest-hits compilation; it doesn't include anything not recorded for Modern, which means it doesn't have their biggest hit, 1962's Top 20 single "I'm Blue (The Gong-Gong Song)" (released on Atco), though it does have their only other Top 40 pop entry, 1965's "Peaches 'n' Cream." The Ikettes were good singers -- you probably had to be to remain in Ike Turner's employ -- and at Modern, they cut a variety of material in a straightforward early soul vein, sometimes with a bit of a girl group edge. However, many of the songs they recorded for the label were more ordinary than their talents likely deserved. Most of this is pretty average mid-'60s soul, sometimes with (like many Modern discs of the time) a rather ersatz Motown sound -- the Top 20 R&B single "I'm So Thankful" is a virtual copy of mid-'60s Mary Wells -- and sometimes with a pronounced R&B approach more in line with Ike & Tina Turner's own discs (though Ike Turner wrote only a few of these songs). Sometimes, for sure, it's pretty good, particularly on "Peaches 'n' Cream," "Can't Sit Down 'Cos I Feel So Good," and the Ike Turner-penned dance tune "Camel Walk." But this is a group that would be better served by a more selective best-of sampling from their work for various labels, though this comp's valuable for completist soul collectors who want everything the Ikettes did during this period.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
2:34 Spotify
2 2:36 Spotify
3 3:02 Spotify
3:26 Spotify
5 2:53 Spotify
6 3:12 Spotify
2:20 Spotify
2:22 Spotify
9 2:44 Spotify
10 3:50 Spotify
11 2:37 Spotify
12 3:44 Spotify
13 2:21 Spotify
14 1:51 Spotify
15 2:39 Spotify
2:59 Spotify
17 2:08 Spotify
18 1:58 Spotify
2:20 Spotify
3:48 Spotify
21 2:46 Spotify
22 3:12 Spotify
23 2:19 Spotify
2:54 Spotify
25 2:31 Spotify
26 2:54 Spotify
27 2:34 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick