Kylie Minogue


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The simple problem with Kylie the Queen of Disco's first remix collection is not that it's bad, because it isn't. It's that it could -- and should -- be better. For example, take the opening track, the genius 2002 mash-up "Can't Get Blue Monday Out of My Head." It's an absolutely wonderful combination of two great songs -- but who among Kylie's fans doesn't already own this? It's followed by the "Death Metal Disco Scene" mix of "In My Arms," one of only two songs appearing here twice ("Can't Get You" being the other). Unfortunately, DMDS' take is incredibly dull and repetitive, heavy on the looping and not much else. (Sebastien Leger's mix, on the other hand, is attractively itchy, and builds nicely to some tech-ish fun.) By and large, Boombox's biggest shortfall is that many of the mixes chosen just aren't that hot. "Love at First Sight" is represented by the "Kid Creme Vocal Dub," which includes almost none of Kylie's vocal. Sure, it's a dub, but come on -- this album's big draw is supposed to be Kylie! This isn't to say there's nothing good here: Chemical Brothers' marvelous, widescreen take on "Slow" still conquers, and Fischerspooner turn Kylie multi-orgasmic on a "Come into My World" remix that bears a bit of their own "Emerge" in its DNA. Overall, however, Boombox is a sadly prime example of a colossally missed opportunity.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:06 SpotifyAmazon
2 4:08 SpotifyAmazon
4:00 SpotifyAmazon
4 3:40 SpotifyAmazon
5 4:44 SpotifyAmazon
6 4:18 SpotifyAmazon
7 3:35 SpotifyAmazon
8 3:22 SpotifyAmazon
9 3:47 SpotifyAmazon
10 4:19 SpotifyAmazon
11 4:04 SpotifyAmazon
12 4:12 SpotifyAmazon
13 3:49 SpotifyAmazon
14 4:44 SpotifyAmazon
15 3:39 SpotifyAmazon
16 3:56 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick