Loren Nerell

Book of Alchemy

  • AllMusic Rating
    9
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Book of Alchemy is a set of dense electro-tribal ambience from Loren Nerell, a master of the sublime and the surreal. Drawing from many different ethnicities and from modern contemporary electronics, Nerell has shaped a soundscape that is ideal for slow days and slow walks. He combines ethnic and modern rhythms with minimalist drones and atmospheres and strange samples to create the aura of mystery and surrealism associated with the practice of alchemy. This psychoactive sojourn will appeal to fans of Steve Roach, David Parsons, A Produce, and Robert Rich. It is difficult to find, so it is important for collectors.